Questioning myself - too cerebral - struggling with or neglecting prayer life but on CAF a lot

Most of the time I really enjoy participating in the CAF community and I have learned things that have strengthened my knowledge of the Faith, or felt affirmed by knowing there are other earnest practicing Catholics I can share it with. That’s a great blessing.

I have a lot of “head knowledge” :coffeeread: about the Faith, and I don’t completely lack “heart knowledge” of it :heart: :love: but for the last few years I find it difficult to concentrate in prayer or even some days to remember TO pray. :frowning:

Now I’m not blaming CAF for this; I was headed in that direction in the earlier part of the past decade. At that time, a group of other women I hung out with and went to Adoration and Mass with began to get busy and we weren’t able to get together as often. I did carry on for a few years myself better than I do currently.

In the last 5 years or so, life became very chaotic - I went through the implosion of my final two jobs and into the process of filing for disability, going through a home foreclosure, moving twice, surgeries and other disruptions. However, things are looking up. I do wake in the mornings and often feel very grateful for things being so much better now. And I give thanks to God for that.

But so far I am still having a time with structured prayer. There are some things that are challenges to that in terms of my own physical and mental issues. I have mild sleep apnea and though it doesn’t require medical treatment (and I’m not soliciting that here in view of forum rules so please refrain from offering it). The only difficulty with that is I have to wake slowly and in stages and am not good at waking very early. :yawn: By the time I am less groggy, usually the other human and several of the animals in the household are up and about and it’s awkward trying to find a free quiet alone time and place to pray.