Questions about Mary

I am a protestant searching for answers…I am very new to looking into the Catholic church for answers…Ok, here it is… Please guide me to scripture that shows that praying to Mary and the Saints for intercession is ok… Maybe because of my protestant upbringing through more than one denomination, I am a little unsure and feel like I am doing something wrong by praying thru or to someone other than God directly… Thank you so much

Hi I am a protestant seeking answers… I am very new to seeking out Catholic answers to my spiritual questions… I would very much like scriptures that point me to the fact that it is ok to pray to or thru? Mary and the Saints… Maybe it is my various protestant experiences that make me feel like I am doing something wrong if asking for intercession from Mary or a Saint… Thank you for scripture to help me study this…

I understand your uneasiness, I was there myself a few years ago. These articles really helped me out a lot. catholic.com/library/mary_saints.asp

Do you, or does your denomination, encourage asking each other for interecessory prayer? I know of no Protestant community who does not regularly pray for each other’s needs, and ask for prayer for needs of others who may be distant. No one, I am sure, in so doing feels they are in someway bypassing Christ by asking for prayer.

Once we realize who Mary and the saints are, that they are the Church Triumphant, just as we are the Church militant still here on earth fighting the good fight, we understand that in asking them to pray for us we are acknowledgeing the full reality of the communion of saints. It is simply not possible for Mary and the Saints, who are in heaven and continually in God’s presence, to do anything other than pray to, with an in Christ, so there is no question of somehow slighting Him when we pray with them.