Questions about moving to Canada, Toronto area

I’m currently pondering moving to Toronto Canada.

Currently, I live in Chicago, with my wife and baby boy. I’m an IT professional and have a master’s degree, so that helps in immigration.

Does anyone have any advice or suggestions?

How’s the job market for IT folks? How about financial analysts? Or business analysts?

How about flooding? Where in the TMA is a good place to live to avoid floods and weather damage?

Are there areas in the TMA one should avoid living in? (high crime areas, for example)

If I were to move all my stuff with a rent-a-truck, how is the customs check? Is there a huge delay?

At this point, I’m in the initial stages of planning, so there’s nothing firm yet. I don’t have any job offers from there yet.

To have any shot you’d first have to find an employer. The employer then must prove to the Canadian government that there is no one in Canada that can do the job. Even then they’d still perfer to take immigrants from second world (central/eastern Europe) or third world (Asia/Africa) countries over Americans. Some areas of Canada are experiencing larbor shortages, Ottwa is an example. Toronto, as the biggest city in Canada far and away, really isn’t. If you’re not willing to consider another area in Canada you don’t have a very good chance.

Hello,
I have lived in the Greater Toronto Area my whole life so I know something about it. The job market for professionals is quite good and the unemployment rate is hovering around 30 year lows so finding a job shouldn’t be a major obstacle immigration issues aside. I’m not sure why you bring up flooding and weather damage because neither are problematic issues? On the whole Toronto is the safest large city in North America although there are bad sections but I don’t imagine you will be moving into an area of subsidized housing so it shouldn’t be a problem. Customs I can’t really comment on good luck though.

CCMO8,