Questions about Refugees and Asylum Seekers

I am an school student looking for an Australian to answer the following questions about refugees and asylum seekers.

1. What is your personal view on the topic of Asylum Seekers and Refugees?
  2. Does Catholicism’s view on this topic have an effect on your outlook?
  3. What particular values taught by Catholicism relate to Refugees and Asylum Seekers?
  4. What do you think Australia’s view on Refugees and Asylum Seekers is as a country?
  5. Do you think Catholicism has a major effect on India’s view on refuges and asylum seekers?
  6. From your experiences would you say Australia is more or less welcoming to Refugees and Asylum Seekers than other countries around the world?
  7. Once refugees and asylum seekers are allowed entry to Australia do you think they are embraced as part of the country or segregated as an outcast group?
  8. How does the community support Refugees and Asylum Seekers in any possible way?
  9. Where do the majority of Refugees and Asylum Seekers in Australia come from?

South Australian here. I am no expert, just a very very ordinary Australian and speaking from my own personal (thus quite limited) experience.

1. What is your personal view on the topic of Asylum Seekers and Refugees?
We need to help them as much as we can.

2. Does Catholicism’s view on this topic have an effect on your outlook?
Since my Catholicism is The Gospel, yes it does

3. What particular values taught by Catholicism relate to Refugees and Asylum Seekers?
The parable of the Good Samaritan in response to the question posed to Jesus “who is my neighbour”? Our neighbour is any person whatsoever in need of assistance and refugees and asylum seekers are certainly that. The good Samaritan not only goes out of his way to help an ‘enemy’. He also pauses to help in a dangerous situation where robbers are known to be active. In other words, he undertakes personal risk to assist.