Questions about religious life by those who are not interested in becoming religious

I have real question and there is no disrespect intended, just genuine curiosity. Why do so many lay people who have no interest in entering religious order or a religious congregation ask so many questions about religious life on a vocation forum?

Allow me to explain myself. I have no interest in rocket science. I really don’t. If we had a forum on rocket science, I would pass it up and go to the one that interests me. Am I being to single-minded or just not curious enough?

When I was a novice, we were taught not to ask questions that have nothing to do with our lives, because such a pursuit only takes away from the mental cloister that is necessary for prayer and the things that are important for our daily lives. In other words, the goal is to achieve absolute internal silence to hear the voice of God.

Fraternally,

Br. JR, OSF :)

[quote="JReducation, post:1, topic:207019"]
I have real question and there is no disrespect intended, just genuine curiosity. Why do so many lay people who have no interest in entering religious order or a religious congregation ask so many questions about religious life on a vocation forum?

Allow me to explain myself. I have no interest in rocket science. I really don’t. If we had a forum on rocket science, I would pass it up and go to the one that interests me. Am I being to single-minded or just not curious enough?

When I was a novice, we were taught not to ask questions that have nothing to do with our lives, because such a pursuit only takes away from the mental cloister that is necessary for prayer and the things that are important for our daily lives. In other words, the goal is to achieve absolute internal silence to hear the voice of God.

Fraternally,

[/quote]