Questions before converting

Hi! I have been studying the Catholic faith for about 2 or 3 years now and have also been a frequent reader of these forums. I find the case for Catholicism very convincing and have even started attending Mass. I do have one big issue that has been the biggest stumbling block to converting. I know it has been discussed many times on this forum but I need to ask anyway. The issue is the salvation of those who have never even heard of Christ. In Scripture it seems clear that actually knowing and putting faith in Christ is absolutely necessary for salvation. I know the Catholic Church leaves open the possibility of salvation for those who have not heard and while I like the idea of it I feel like I am going away from the Gospel and Christ if I accept that. I feel so torn and don’t know what to do…:confused:

Christ’s sacrifice of the cross gained redemption for all mankind. That is how it is possible that those never hearing the Gospel can be saved.

It is certainly God’s will that everyone come to know Jesus Christ and put their faith in him. However, even Jesus suggests that those who are ignorant of the will of God will not be treated the same as those who know God’s will:
47And that servant who knew his master’s will, but did not make ready or act according to his will, shall receive a severe beating. 48But he who did not know, and did what deserved a beating, shall receive a light beating. Every one to whom much is given, of him will much be required; and of him to whom men commit much they will demand the more. (Luke 12:47-48)

1. God created us to know Him, to love Him, to work for Him in this life, and to be happy with Him in the next.

Given this fact, is it likely that God would create persons who are not capable of doing so? (Not likely.)