Questions, concerns and worries

So I’m considerly very seriously about joining a Catholic religious order. Such as the Jesuits, Francisans, etc. I’m only baptized and have not received Communion, or been to confession. However that will all change start Tuesday. I am meeting my parish priest about attending Mass, and starting the process of being in Commuion with the Church. However I am worried about some obstacles in joining a religious order.

I’m currently in college and I am in my second year. However I don’t think it’s what I want to do anymore (journalism). I truly want to dedicate my whole life to God. However I am a bit worried that my debt will disqualify me from even being considered to join an order. Also, I didn’t take many university level courses in high school to qualify to enter a university. So I don’t know if joining a seminary is out of the question. Unless you don’t have to join a seminary to become a religious. I’m just extremely worried that my dream of serving God is all but impossible now.

Also if it makes it any easier I’m Canadian and live in Ontario…

You do not have to attend seminary to become a religious. Keep your appointment and make arrangements to receive the rest of your sacraments. If you are discerning a call to religious life, then you will need a spiritual advisor, ask the priest to recommend someone. Let us know how things are going!

A long road ahead of you so take it slowly and enjoy the travelling.

You will have a wait after full entry into the church and these are years that can bear rich fruit.

The journey is rich and lovely!

Welcome into the Church!

Pretty much all religious orders require that people be Catholic for at least two years before they can be admitted, so you have a lot of time. You might want to spend some of it deepening your prayer life and reading about the different congregations and orders. You might also want to meet with your parish priest and/or diocesan vocation director.