Questions for Lutherans (LCMS)

I have a series of questions for Missouri Synod Lutherans. After reading through some threads, I’m confused about some things and hope to get clarification.

First of all, a little background, I have some experience with the LCMS. The LCMS was where I fell in love with the liturgy (the parish was high-church) and I was really close to becoming an Missouri Synod Lutheran at one point.

My questions:

The Missouri Synod has a congregationalist polity, where congregations are organized into 35 districts, the head being the District President.

My question, why not call these “districts” dioceses as that seems to be what they essentially are?

Why not call the District President a “bishop” since his role is essentially that of a bishop?

I have seen some District Presidents refer to themselves as bishops, is this common and do they wear the traditional “garb” of a bishop?

How common are Eucharistic Vestments when celebrating the Eucharist? The “high-church” Lutheran pastor at the parish I visited wore one for the celebration of the Eucharist.

I see that some Lutheran pastor’s prefer to be called by the title “Father,” is this very common?

What is the LCMS position on apostolic succession?

The more I read about the LCMS, the more confused I become about some of the liturgical practices. I want to thank everybody in advance for helping to answer these questions.

=seanman611;11974439]I have a series of questions for Missouri Synod Lutherans. After reading through some threads, I’m confused about some things and hope to get clarification.

First of all, a little background, I have some experience with the LCMS. The LCMS was where I fell in love with the liturgy (the parish was high-church) and I was really close to becoming an Missouri Synod Lutheran at one point.

My questions:

The Missouri Synod has a congregationalist polity, where congregations are organized into 35 districts, the head being the District President.