Questions on parishes

1. I live part of the year in one city, and part of the year in another, though both are in the same diocese (I am a university student.) With which parish should I register?

2. Does a Newman Center count as a parish?

3. If the nearest parish church is an ethnic parish, is that my parish, or may I register in the slightly-farther English-speaking parish?

Also, if one gets married, they have to have that marriage recorded in the parish of their birth, right? How does that work for immigrants? Do I have to call St. Luke’s in Manila to inform them?

You could, in theory, register at the Newman Center, but, you might want to check it out first for fidelity to the Church, especially where the Holy Sacrifice of the Mass. When I went to the University, I was blessed enough to have both a parish and a Newman Center within close proximity of my dorm. However, one visit to the Newman Center sent me walking to the parish.

Now, do you have a car? If you have a car, there is no need to change parishes. My parish is not the one that is closest to me. I go elsewhere.

If I were you, I’d register in your “home city” parish and support your Newman Center on campus. When you go through marriage prep, your pastor, with the help of your diocese, will take care of the details of having your marriage recorded.

The marriage needs to be recorded in the same parish where the Baptism of the person took place. In fact, if you are planning on getting married, now would be a good time to request a copy of your baptismal certificate. In my diocese, the most recent copy of required (not the original one).

What happens when the parish of baptism no longer exists? Many parishes have closed up here in recent years.

I’m not going to be married for quite some time, just a curious question should it happen.

I have a copy of my baptismal certificate (I needed it to get my papers), but do I need to notify the parish in the Philippines where I was baptized?

[LIST=1]