Questions re: Sunday Missal

I’m new to Catholicism, about to start RCIA in Aug. So, this is probably a really stupid question.
I’ve noticed that our parish announced a few weeks ago that the Missals are now here and available in the gift shop.
I’ve tried to find out what they are about, but haven’t really came up with much. I noticed there are weekly missals, Sunday missals, etc.
What are they for? And are they for a certain period of time? The Church has the Mass order information in each seating area in a couple of booklets that are really helpful, but I guess I’m curious regarding the missal for sale in the gift shop. It’s a burgundy color, but quite thick book.
Does anyone here use these? What kind of information would be in there that isn’t in the booklets at each seat. Should I be looking at getting one?

Sorry for the many questions.

The missals will usually contain the order of Mass, music for Mass, and usually the readings for each Sunday and or Daily Mass. The could run for any amount of time. They could be ones that never run out; you can reuse them all the time, or they could run seasonally (Ordinary Time - Christ the King Sunday), or they could run according to the liturgical year (First Sunday of Advent - Christ the King Sunday). Since you said that they are in a burgundy colored book and thick in size, they are probably ones that you an reuse all the time and not have to throw away at the end of the liturgical year.

Thanks so much, then with the missal I could look up the details prior to the mass, and hopefully increase my understanding? I will have to get one.:slight_smile: I just hesitated spending that much money, not really knowing what it entailed. Thank you!

Yup. Looking up the details/readings beforehand really helps sometimes rather than just sitting at Mass and listening to them. I always do that. I hope you get your money’s worth! :smiley: