Quick Rosary question

Hi everyone,

I'm starting to pray the Rosary soon, but I just had a quick question on how (I looked up the basics, but I still have one question).

When one prays the Rosary, does one have to say all the decades or can I say just 1 or what?

So to complete 1 Mystery, do I have to say all the decades, or just 1?

Sorry, I'm not good at this :confused::o

Also, are the 15 Promises approved by the Church or what? They sound really good (almost too good to be true), but I don't want to be doing anything not approved by the Vatican.

Thanks for the help,
coolduude:cool:

When one prays the Rosary, does one have to say all the decades or can I say just 1 or what?

The average rosary beads has five decades on it, so must say five decades at time, which would be a complete set of mysteries. It takes about fifteen minutes.

I can see your concern. Saying five decades for each mystery would be a lot. One decade is one mystery.

Also, are the 15 Promises approved by the Church or what? They sound really good (almost too good to be true), but I don’t want to be doing anything not approved by the Vatican.

The Vatican loves the Rosary. You don’t have to worry about that.

This site can help you out if you get confused about what to say on each bead.
ourcatholicfaith.org/onlinerosary.html
It also comes with pictures and chants. Always fun. And Latin if you want.

Hi cooldude :tiphat:

Wow! God bless on your prayers with Mary! And we forum people will try to answer your questions to the best of our availability. :thumbsup:

As JS Cortez said, it is customary to say five decades (one mystery per decade) when praying the Rosary. However, it is not uncommon to space all 15 or 20 mysteries (depends on whether you want to include the optional Luminous Mysteries or not) in a week: for 20 mysteries, three mysteries per day for six days and two mysteries on the last day; for 15 mysteries, two mysteries per day for six days and three mysteries on the last day.