Quitting job as a teacher to be a SAHM

I started out as a SAHM, and I posted in this forum about going back to work and what the church says. After returning to work as a teacher, I have come to the realization that this is not God’s will for me and my family, and I am asking to resign tomorrow. I am so nervous and really need some encouragement. I feel really bad about leaving so early in the school year, especially when it comes to my students having to get to know a new teacher all over again (they all have Autism). But I just can’t do it, and that is so difficult to admit. Please send me your thoughts.

I haven’t read your other threads. But I absolutely believe that, if circumstances allow, mothers should be at home with their kids. I get that you feel the same way, at least for youself and your own family. I couldn’t be happier for you! :slight_smile: Although I can understand why you feel nervous…this is great news.

You tried life as a teacher, and you know it’s not where you belong. I think it’s great that you have the guts to do what you know is right even though (as you’ve said) it may cause some initial awkwardness in leaving your job, etc. Just give them at least 2-weeks notice, if you can. :slight_smile:

Thanks for the encouragement! I’m really nervous about the time I have to spend at work after I submit my notice. I know I’ll get some backlash. I wish I could just leave tomorrow!

If you prayerfully considered this, then you know where God is pointing you. Perhaps you could offer to stay until a good replacement is found. This way the students would not have to get used to a temporary sub then a new teacher.

if the school year started, i would suggest staying the year out, and announcing you wish to resign at the end of the year