Quitting the Dating Game (ABCs of Choosing a Good Wife by Stephen Wood)

I am reading The ABCs of Choosing a Good Wife by Stephen Wood, published by Family Life Center and sold here at Catholic Answers. The book has been a wake-up call for me in many ways, but specifically in terms of what it says about dating.

Basically, Mr. Wood writes off dating completely as a loser's game, a constant "pattern of bonding and breaking up" (p. 32).

I am very much eager to quit the dating game. However, I am not sure how to apply his advice, which seems to be written for teenagers and college-age adults. I am a busy postgraduate professional, as are my relationship prospects.

Thoughts?

“You and the woman you are courting should interact with your families at mealtimes and join in family activities, recreation, and outings as much as possible.”

This is a “cut to the chase” approach (reality speed dating). When you marry a woman you’re also marrying her family relationships.

[quote="bkayw, post:2, topic:226814"]
"You and the woman you are courting should interact with your families at mealtimes and join in family activities, recreation, and outings as much as possible."

This is a "cut to the chase" approach (reality speed dating). When you marry a woman you're also marrying her family relationships.

[/quote]

Does this mean we should not meet for lunch unless it is at one or the other parents' homes?

This book seems quite odd. I'm a 30 year old man, not at all tired of the dating scene. I am not going to, on a first date, ever be chaperoned. If the young lady said, "Can my mother and father come along to watch us?" I would say, "You are insane. Thanks anyway."

At the age of 16 I wasn't chaperoned either.

This whole "courting" thing-for grown ups? Freaky man. Really freaky. The whole subtext that "dating" is immoral really feeds into negative Catholic stereotypes.