Raw survival class for kids

Lately with all the natural disastors occuring and wars that are on going and then recently watching a History channel movie about life after an armagedon type situations I started thinking about our childrens education. I have my oldest son in the cubscouts, and think it is a great starting point. But I also believe that in school, another class should be mandatory… they should call it “Raw Survival”. It should teach children/teens how to sterilize found water and what insects and reptiles are eatable and what plants are toxic and what are safe and which ones have healing remedies. Some farming skills and outdoor saftey survival skills (with no tent, and no supplies.)

Basically a class that each year would teach a laundry list of skills that would teach our future generation to survive if the world they know were to vanish. Kids today have less and less survival skills and more and more computer and video game skills. But what if the electricity went out then what???

I’m curious what others think about this idea?

Very wise things to be teaching them, good skills to have in any natural disaster. Include CPR, and field medicine. Another great class that’s not being taught to teens, survival class for the real world they live in. We tend to leave them to figure it out after high school and the reality is always a huge struggle.

Remember. The first step:

Defend the fuel.

Basic survival, what water to drink and not to drink. CPR, how to treat wounds.

I’d be careful in how much information I’d share with a young child for a few reasons.

Children can be frightened when you talk about apocalyptic events that could cause them to need the skills. Most parents would go apesh*t if they knew the school was telling the children they were all going to die.