RCIA/Easter Vigil dropout

I grew up a protestant, raised on the Lutheran (ELCA) denomination. I hadn’t been to church in over a decade but remained a Christian through private prayer and bible study.

I’ve been investigating the Catholic Church for about 5 years now. I went through the RCIA program for a year.I enjoyed meeting with people and discussing our faith. However, I found the entire process to be somewhat tedious and annoying. It seemed to me like it was geared toward people who have little Christian background. That’s all well and good, but for people like me, I was bored silly and I felt like my questions were not being answered. NOT ONCE did we read from the Catechism. How can you have Catechesis without the Catechism?!

I dropped out yesterday, just before the Easter Vigil Mass where I was to be confirmed. I called my sponsor and told him that, in a nutshell, I cannot answer the following question in the affirmative in good concience: “Do you accept everything the Church teaches?”. I’m stuck on certain things and I don’t think they can be reconciled.

I’m beginning to wonder if I should take a closer look at the Lutheran (ELCA) church. However, because of their somewhat liberal views on abortion and homosexuality, I have a big problem with them. I like the Missouri Synod but my BIG stumbling block with them is their profession that the Pope is anti-Christ (!) How ridiculous!!

So here I am, looking again at the Catholic Church. My biggest roadblocks here are:

1. Immaculate Conception. Mary born without sin seems to contradict scripture. There is a passage that says not one is sinless, not one. She was 100% HUMAN, not divine like Christ. She also called Jesus her savior. Why would she need a savior if she were without sin?