RCIA - or lack thereof

Greetings all,
There is no question as such in this post, I just felt like sharing something…I have recenty moved to a new area and I am also longing to become a Catholic - so naturally I emailed the parish priest about coming along to RCIA…
There isn’t one! It seems this parish is so small and Catholics a little thin on the ground that RCIA classes aren’t really in demand enough to warrant setting one up.
Consequently the priest has told me that he ‘prepares converts individually’. I’m quite pleased with that as I know I will be learning from the best person in the parish, and also I’m not good with classes - I tend to shrink to the back of the room and be quiet!
However, he did say that my first task was to settle in to a pattern of attending Mass every Sunday and Holy Day of Obligation - so I will pray that God helps me with my shyness on my first visit!
If you’ve read this far, thanks for listening!:thumbsup:
God Bless:heaven:

That sounds absolutely lovely! Don’t be afraid to ask questions, especially the ones you are afraid to ask-those are the ones that will lead you to deeper understanding.
Wishing you a wonderful journey of faith.

:slight_smile: That’s pretty special, RCIA with a priest instructor.

I’m an RCIA sponsor and we have a full time lay instructor with occassional instruction by our priests.

Welcome home & congratulations.

This was how my “RCIA” was conducted. I met with our parish priest every week from October through Easter. That was such a special time in my life. I’m actually getting teary as I reflect on how much I adored that priest, and how much I miss him now that he’s been transferred. Best wishes to you in your conversion process. :thumbsup:

I’m also from the UK and was at the same stage you are now several months ago. :slight_smile: I know how good it feels to finally know what direction you’ve been heading, good luck and very happy for you!