Re: What do I do?

I suppose the obvious answer is pray, but I 've never had this happen before after a confession.

I went this morning…and the priest (who is not our regular priest) did not ask me to say the act of contrition and did not give me any penance…but he did absolve me…

I did do the act of contrition after he said the absolution anyway…but felt too weird asking him for a penance, so should I just make up my own?

Also, I am new to the Catholic Faith…was baptized RC, but did not grow up in any faith and just started coming to the RC church over a year ago.

ONe other important matter…My sin was a mortal sin…but I do struggle with addictions and mental health problems, but even so…I cannot forgive myself this time…and I did not feel GOd’s love and forgiveness…but I have every other time Ive gone to confession.

Could it have anything to do with how the priest handled it , since he didnt ask me for the act of contrition and did not give me any spirtitual direction or penance?

Please help…

Confused and worried

Remember neither an Act of Contrition nor a formal imposition of a penance is an essential part of the sacrament.

You did the right thing by praying your Act of Contrition privately, of course. That’s what we’re supposed to do if we don’t say it in the confessional. In fact it wouldn’t hurt to make it part of your daily routine to pray it EACH night before you go to bed.

Remember too that if the priest absolved you YOU ARE ABSOLVED - the only exceptions would be if you deliberately omitted to mention a mortal sin or if you were completely unrepentant in attitude.