Reading the Gospels - please help

Dear CAF,

I am a catholic college student, and I really would like to start reading the four gospels and to really know the gospels by heart. I was wondering, how do you think that I should read the four gospels? when I read a passage in the gospels that I don't understand, what do I do? Where do I go to in order to find out the meaning of a certain passage?

[quote="sonoftherosary, post:1, topic:335844"]
Dear CAF,

I am a catholic college student, and I really would like to start reading the four gospels and to really know the gospels by heart. I was wondering, how do you think that I should read the four gospels? when I read a passage in the gospels that I don't understand, what do I do? Where do I go to in order to find out the meaning of a certain passage?

[/quote]

In order to become really familiar with the Gospels, there's no substitute for simply reading them. A lot. Every day. Over the course of many months you'll become more and more familiar with them until it becomes second nature to recall more and more passages.

At the same time, it really helps to to some directed study, even on your own. There are tons of great Catholic study resources out there, but if you want something to refer to while reading the Gospels to get you through the tough spots, I would highly recommend the** Ignatius Catholic Study Bible**. You can Google it for more information.

You can find other Catholic resources for studying the Scriptures at my website, linked below.

I pray for understanding when I read the Bible. This is a helpful website–
www.biblegateway.com

Try this site, full of accurate historical references and resources and provides both Catholic and Protestant material which I find very enlightning. I thoroughly enjoy what this site freely provides. Give it a try.
biblestudytools.com/luke/