Readings at Mass different

Hello,

I have a quick question: Today I was watching mass on EWTN and following along with my Magnificat, and I noticed that the scripture reading wasn’t the same as in the Magnificat. Today’s readings were suppose to be Micah 6:1-4, 6-8 and Matthew 12:38-42, and the Psalm was 50. The reading on EWTN was something in 1st or 2nd Corinthians (forgive me, my three little children were also distracting me at the time, and I missed some parts this morning). No where do I see where Corinthians was suppose to be read today. It was the feast of St. Lawrence of Brindisi.

I looked around on line but didn’t see anything. Am I missing something? :confused: I am still learning the nuances of the Catholic faith. :blush:

Thanks,

-Heidi

The feast of St. Lawrence of Brindisi is an optional memorial, hence it needn’t be celebrated. Most likely what you saw on EWTN was the ferial Monday in the 16th week of ordinay time (or else Magnificat’s readings are for the ferial Monday and EWTN celebrated the feast of St. LoB).

ewtn.com/daily-readings/

That link above was not the Mass that was shown at 8am (I checked that too :slight_smile: ). It was a different priest too.

Thank you for responding. :slight_smile: The Magnificat readings were the same readings that were listed on the USCCB website, so I’m assuming those are the typical ferial Monday readings? And the priest on EWTN was highlighting the feast day; he stressed it during the prayers and homily, etc. rather than just mentioning the Saint’s feast day like the priests usually do.

I just found on the EWTN website this:

Monday, July 21, 2014
St. Lawrence of Brindisi, Priest, Doctor of the Church (Feast)

First Reading: Wisdom 8:9-16 or 2 Corinthians 5:14-21
Psalm: Psalm 67:2-5, 7-8
Gospel: Luke 9:1-6

The greater and more persistent your confidence in God, the more abundantly you will receive what you ask.

– St. Albert the Great