Receiving Communion?

I’m not really sure where to put this question, so I’m going to put it here and hope it’s ok. :smiley:

If a non-catholic receives communion in a Catholic Church, it’s considered a sin. If a non-catholic receives communion in a non-catholic church it’s not a sin, correct?

Thanks in advance for any input.

Sounds like you’re going in circles here. If you are a Baptist, and go to a Baptist church, then by all means take communion. But if you go to another protestant church, you might want to ask ahead of time so you won’t mess up. I don’t know if it would be considered sinful or not, that might depend on what each church teaches. Oh, and a Catholic can’t take communion in Protestant church.

I am completely going in circles. I’ve been attending RCIA for several months, and I just don’t know that I can commit to becoming Catholic because of concepts like the question I asked above. How can it be sinful to receive communion at one church and not another?

I’m just so frustrated. :frowning:

Its sinful because of the difference of what the Catholic Church teaches and what the Reformation Church’s teaching, to Protestants its bread and grape juice, its just a symbol , and as Catholics we don’t receive a “Symbol” the Catholic Church teaches that when a priest celebrates Mass he has the power to turn the bread and wine (not bread and grape juice) into the Body and Blood of Christ. John 6: 53 -58

Line 53 starts off by saying. Jesus said to them, Amen, Amen, I say to you, unless you eat the flesh of the Son of Man and drink his blood, you do not have life within you,

Summary.

As Catholics we can only receive the Body and Blood of Christ as commandeth to do so by Our Lord, which is called Transubstantiation , to receive anything else is incorrect, and why would you not want to eat the real thing , it would be like asking someone do you want to eat meat, or a plastic version of meat.