Receiving Sacraments

I posed this question to an Apologist but, while I’m awaiting the response, I thought I would also ask here to see if any experienced Catholics can answer the question.

I’m wondering if anyone wanting to make their sacraments in the Catholic Church must attend RCIA or RCIC classes? Or, can a child be homeschooled in order to prepare to receive the sacraments? Or can an adult be self-taught in order to prepare to receive the sacraments?

Is there a standard curriculum or doctrine or prayers that one must master and demonstrate to the Church before receiving the sacraments?

FYI: I went to Catholic School as a child over 20 years ago and so I was prepared by the school to make my sacraments. My daughter is currently 7 years old and is enrolled in RCIC classes; however, I am wondering if I could homeschool her?

Adding: I just found a link on my church’s website that shows that the following prayers are required for making First Communion:

Sign of the Cross
Our Father
Hail Mary
Glory Be
Act of Contrition

Also, I have been sitting on each RCIC class every Sunday since September 14th so, I’m aware of what my daughter is learning in class. I’m already doing my own part to educate her, which is above and beyond what is being taught in the class.

The answers to your questions can vary by diocese and parish. Talk to your pastor.

KCT has the best answer. Talk to your parish priest. In many EF only parishes, the priest will give one on one instruction.

RCIA is not a class. It is a rite (or series of rites) of the Catholic Church.

Receiving the sacraments of initiation is not about passing a test or meeting certain knowledge requirements. “Readiness” for the rites involves a number of factors.

Readiness for the sacraments includes formation through catechesis (handing on the Sacred Word and tradition); formation in and through the Christian community; formation in liturgical prayer; and formation in apostolic service and witness.