Regarding Confirmation Names

Well, hello there! :slight_smile:
I’m about to be confirmed in a couple of months, but I have yet to pick a saint name for my confirmation name. I’ve been extremely conflicted for some reason. I’ve narrowed my choices down to St. Cecilia and St. Joan of Arc.
I love St. Cecilia as she is the patron saint of music/musicians and I’m a musician myself, playing the violin and piano. I looked into her story, and I found it to be extremely beautiful aside from her death.
Then, there’s St. Joan of Arc who is the patroness of soldiers and of France. Soldiers and France don’t necessarily have anything to do with who I am, but her story was inspiring. She was a courageous young woman who led an army to regain their country, and to think that she was burned on a stake at the age of 19…It’s just that I feel like she’s calling for me. At the young age of 6, I saw my father watching this movie about Joan of Arc, and he was at the part where she died when I walked into the room. I almost immediately became fascinated with her.
Please excuse my being naive. :o Hopefully, you can help me with this little situation. Thank you!

Cecilia Jeanne has a nice ring to it.:thumbsup:

Go and sit before the Blessed Sacrament. Ask God what Saint He wants you to choose. :)

You don’t necessarily have to limit yourself to female saints, either :slight_smile:

Thank you, Augusta. I’m a woman but my confirmation name is Michael. When my husband was baptized and confirmed last Easter he took the confirmation name Anthony Mary because he loves the Blessed Mother and St. Anthony of Padua and didn’t want to have to choose between them.