Regarding Work on Sundays

I’m a University Student and I also work part time to save money to cover my tuition fees and student loans. I attend Mass on Sunday mornings but I work an evening shift and so I work all weekend.

My question is whether I’ve not been following the third commandment because I’ve been working on Sundays (even though I am attending Mass). It’s hard for me to work on the weekdays because I have school and to have my work allow me the weekdays off, I agreed to work the weekend (provided I could still go to Mass on Sundays). Another factor in this is that because we only have a few people who work in my department, I’m the only guy normally who can work the morning shift on a Saturday and the evening shift on Sundays, and I’m worried that changing my work schedule would make it more difficult for my co-workers and their schedules.

What do you think? Am I okay to work? If not, what should I do?

yes, stop worrying about this. You are making it to Mass and often times the only jobs students can get are on the weekends. I work in a hospital and work every other weekend. I am still amazed that too many get stuck on this issue about work on Sunday. This isn’t your end job for life, you are working based on your school schedule and your are making it to Mass. If you have any other concerns, talk to a priest.

Thank you very much for replying! Normally during the summer I switch to working every other day except Sunday, so this isn’t a permanent thing (as well as since it’s a student job).

Thanks for putting my mind at ease! :smiley: