Reiki?

Is the practice of Reiki an allowed activity for a Catholic person?

I just saw there are Reiki classes on the Cincinnati Archdioceses web site. It is being held by one of the Sisters of Charity here in Cincinnati.

Class Posting:
catholiccincinnati.org/cgi-bin/cal_make.pl?p1=PAR

Reiki People in Sisters of Charity:
srcharitycinti.org/spirit.htm

Can someone tell me if this is allowed in the Catholic Church?

If this is NOT allowed what should I do?

Thanks,
James

This doesn’t sound like something that should be encouraged in a Catholic setting but I’m not an expert in such matters. It might be a good idea to write or call your diocese leader and express your concern. I must admit that I’ve heard of some odd things happening. One time I saw in a Church bulletin that there was to be a women’s Bible study. I thought I’d go and try to learn something. I went in with my Bible and was told that I had the wrong idea about what was going on. Instead of studying the Bible, the nun who was in charge played tapes of wind and water and so on. Her Bible study was simply teaching that God is everywhere. Not a Bible was in sight except mine, of course. I never went back.

Yeah. That sounds strange too. I wonder if this is common in the different nun communities (new age beliefs). I wonder if there is a nun on these forums that could enlighten us on this?

I’m just concerned that people will think it is ok being that these classes are on the Archdiocese website.

Crazy!!!

-James