Relationship with Jesus

I feel a little embarrassed, but I’d rather ask than not. What is a good Catholic relationship with Jesus look like?

A good Catholic relationship with Jesus looks like lots of prayer, frequenting the Sacraments with good dispositions, and making an honest attempt every day to do better than the last day in lining our wills up with His (which is primarily done through Prayer).

Jesus is my brother, my best friend, the one who loves me, the one I can always turn to, the one who is always there, always listening, always caring, always guiding, and I try to always love him back. Plus, he is my God who saves me and I am always grateful and humbled. I can talk to Jesus about anything, any time.

This isn’t much different from a good Protestant relationship with Jesus, from what I’ve seen.

Why are you embarrassed?

It is a good question anyway.

I am not an expert on this but that relationship is just like any relationship with anybody except here, it is with Jesus.

Thus you have to truly know who Jesus is. Of course, He is God. He loves us, that He even died for us. He is the second person of the Trinity.

It is important to understand this love for us. It is a love that needs a response. What is our response then?

Probably from that it tells a lot about this relationship. It is a love relationship. When we say the ‘fear of the Lord’, that fear arises from fear of
losing this relationship - that by the sins we commit, we can very well lose that relationship.

Thus this relationship primarily a relationship with Jesus where we will do everything possible to avoid sin - we fear Him because He is God, we honour Him because He is King, we learn from Him because He is a teacher and we call Him Master, we put ourselves under His protection because He is a Good Shepherd and we are His sheep, we can come to Him unconditionally as what we are because He is our Friend.