Relationship with my co-worker

I am struggling in my workplace, especially relationship with my co-worker troubles me. I recently graduated from a PhD in Biology and I am finishing a project in my PhD lab. I am 32 and ready to start a family. I am a postDoctoral researcher now. It is quite frustrating since there are very few jobs for Biology PhDs these days and to earn my living I am often working 10-12 hours a day (as is normal in my field). My coworker is a technician in my lab. She is about 8 years older than me and has a 14 year old son. She works about 6- 7 hours a day but does not stop talking about how hardworking she is. She was supposed to help me with a new project starting in the lab but she still kept her normal timing leaving at 3:30 every day. My hours have been crazy because I had to finish all the work (coming at 8am and leaving at 9 to 10 pm). Then we started arguing. She went to boss and told him, that he hired her 9 years ago with a promise that she will be able to leave every day at 3:30.
She drives her 14 year old to different special activities so she needs to leave. I understand this. What I don;t undertand is why does she repeat 3 times every day how much work she has and how hard she works? (She does not work very hard most of the time). I know that this is a lie that she makes for herself and it is unthinkable for me to tell her the truth. I just hate lying and so I feel disturbed the whole day. We have a work place of 4 people only so it is hard to stop talking to somebody (it looks like a hostility). I think that I envy her a bit a relaxed schedule that I might never have. We are trying to have a child and the idea of working so many hours distresses me.
How could I make my relationship with her better? Any idea?

Thank you!

She is probably feeling guilty about leaving early and relaxing when's working therefore feels that's she has to justify her actions by how much work she does

Hello,