Religion - catastrophic insurance

Curious if anyone else asks themselves this question. Not only about others but, I’d be even more interested in whether you ask t his question of yourself. As I do.

I am always (or very often) thinking of many aspects of life, and perhaps even more so regarding faith based ponders, along a bell-curve sort of perspective. I can’t help myself. i am an engineer by trade but I don’t really think this is why, it is simply how I think.

When we look, or attempt to examine, the faith of ourselves or the faith of others, we can look at it superficially or we can attempt a deeper dive. This post is about the deeper dive. I will propose (if you will allow me) to bin two groups of Christians. I understand this doesn’t really work because of there is a spectrum of Christians, not at all 2 groups. But it becomes easier for the sake of discussion to bin into 2 groups. So please bare with me. These two groups are devout and nominal.

What question??

My apologies, I thought my question was clear. But given the lack of response, obviously it was only clear to me.

Do we claim a faith and belief in the Christian God - to insure (or help insure) not being damned IF, in fact it is true.

Or is our Faith genuine?

I think both are answers. For some it’s genuine, for some it’s insurance. I think both can also be true in the same person, ebbing back and forth in conjunction with life’s struggles.

I agree - And i cannot remove myself from this category of folks. (If I am being honest).

‘It is good, however, that even if love does not as yet restrain you from evil, at least the fear of
hell does. The man who casts aside the fear of God cannot continue long in goodness but will
quickly fall into the snares of the devil.’ - The Imitation of Christ

I am a thinker. Occasionally a semi-deep thinker. Always an over-thinker.