Religious Order/ Apologetics

A lot has been going through my mind lately, Recently I have been doing alot of listening to EWTN podcasts, and I cannot get over of how well Fr. Mitch Pacwa can really explain things. I am amazed, and he has become like a role model.

I was wondering if there are types of orders that spend their time dedicated to defending the church, with apologetics and studying.

It seems if I were a parish priest there wouldn’t be much time to devote myself to that type of work. I could be wrong though.

I am certainly open to whatever God has in store, and to whatever a Bishop or a Superior asks me to do.

But Apologetics and defending the church really attract me. I also like helping people spiritually, like in spiritual direction, although I have no experience.

Any suggestions

I would think that a diocesan parish priest spends a lot of time with liturgical stuff like Mass, as well as visiting the sick and working with religious education. They might also do counseling for couples or spiritual direction, which can take a lot of time. Then don’t forget the part about running a parish – there are business activities to attend to, and if there is a school it can be quite busy!

Ideally, parish priests would be involved in a lot of apologetics, but I suspect for many it’s not a proactive thing; it may only come up when they are approached by a possible convert, such as in RCIA.

Every Catholic is called to evangelize, but perhaps there is a order whose focus is apologetics.

I don’t know of a specific order, but your local Chancery should have an Office of Evangelization. You could start there.

You could also contact John Martignoni at www.biblechristiansociety.com

He may have some good ideas for you.

Good luck!

Also, check out www.wordonfire.org

Fr. Robert Barron founded this site, as well as the DVD series Catholicism.

You may be able to contact him throught that website.

[quote="DarrenOglesby, post:1, topic:268522"]