Religious to Atheist to Religious

Has anyone converted from Christian to Atheism and then back to Christianity?

I was born Catholic. When I was in 7th or 8th grade, I started to think of myself as an atheist. I ended up going to a Catholic high school and was still an atheist when I graduated. I reverted to Catholicism in college.

When I was religious, I thought I was an atheist before becoming truly an atheist.

There’s the old story about the Anglican bishop in England who was asked how his son was doing at the University.

“He’s doing fine. Right now he’s an atheist.”

That’s only the wrong type of “atheists” who pretend to be atheists so they can look cool in some areas, those aren’t really atheists and the majority of atheists aren’t like that.
I used to pretend to be an atheist when in school but I wasn’t, in fact I was a believer, until I truly became a life long atheist for reasonable reasons. Being open about how you disbelieve can cause social and legal problems in some areas, I don’t think it’s always “cool” .
There is many of life long brilliant atheists, saying it’s a teen phase is just ridiculous, it could be for some but it wouldn’t be sincere or true.

I smell a Scotsman. Alas, he is from York.

On topic: Anything can happen. CharlemagneII (Spelling? Right name even?) may be a candidate.

I read empther’s comment in reference to the fact that one might try on a lot of intellectual hats while in college. For me there was a great irony in leaving my Catholic high school as an atheist and going to a very secular and liberal institution, only to return to the Catholic Church. For a couple months, friends from high school thought I was pulling their legs.

Honestly, if some told me a year ago that I would ever be a Christian, I would not have believed him.