Resenting my Mother

Hello!
I’ve just graduated from high school and I’ve been discerning a religious vocation for four years. I know that I’m never going to be married (as God does not want this) and feel called to become a contemplative nun. I’ve found a community that I like and want to visit, but absolutely cannot because of my mother. The situation is that I’m taking a year off at home and my Mom thinks that I’m going to be going to university afterwards, but in reality I have no intention of doing so. I don’t have an American driver’s license (due to the fact that I was in Germany for high school) and am not financially independent. We’ve talked about my vocation before, but she thinks that this is crazy nonsense and that I’m going through a ‘phase’. I am afraid that compromise is almost impossible and I’ve begun to really resent her because this is my dream and she is really making me suffer because of her stubborness. I know that it isn’t right to have this attitude towards her and I’m trying to be understanding, but it’s driving me crazy. She gets mad or starts to say that I’m being a fanatic when she asks me what I’m doing and I say that I’m going to pray in my room because it’s quieter there. Why isn’t God giving me the grace to forgive her? I don’t want to be angry, but I am and it’s hard to even smile at her. :frowning: Please pray for me and my vocation!

Praying for you to be able to discern and follow your vocation, and for your mother to open her heart to letting you become an adult.

PS. Maybe this is part of your discernment process.
PPS. Perhaps she loves you so much, she is scared that she will lose you more than if you married and moved away to the other end of the country?