Resentment towards my vocation

Hi,

Not to mislead you, but what the title is trying to say is that there are people who may have resentment or doubts on my "calling".

I don't know how to say this, but my vocation journey has been very tough. After discerning my vocation (ie visiting a convent, intense visits to the Blessed Sacrament), I have chosen an apostolate that I want to serve as a religious sister - the Daughters of St Paul. Because I have experience in the media profession, and I am currently studying Communications. That is the congregation's apostolate mission - in the "service of the Gospel media and culture".

However, my parents were, at first, very sceptical. It seemed as though they did not really believe me when I said I wanted to enter the convent. I'm 26 years old this year. I am in the middle of applying to enter as an "outside postulant" due to my circumstances.

When I made the decision to enter, I was dating a guy who was very keen to marry me. He gave me a period of one month to "really think" about my vocation. So I did. In the one month, he gave his best in the relationship to make me change my mind about entering the convent. But my heart has been taken - to live the religious life for God. Marriage at this time is not on my mind. Don't get me wrong, I do care about him.

I'm afraid that I have turned him into an anti-Catholic and anti-nuns because of my decision. After the one-month period is over, I told him my decision to apply to enter the convent. He was devastated. He deleted me from his Facebook, and most of our mutual friends. He posted anti-Catholic/Christian videos on his page, including writing anti-Catholic sentiments.