Retreat in a traditional monastery

I will be doing a retreat in a traditional Benedictine monastery in a few months time. I will be in Barroux, France. I wanted to know if any of you have already done a retreat in a traditional monastery and what tips you could give me.

My SD has said he will help with preparations for the retreat. But I have two questions specifically:

• I’m new to TLM and while I thoroughly enjoy it, I prefer to say the LOTH in English or French. I don’t know how the experience of LOTH in Latin will be. I’ve heard Barroux offices online but it’s not the same thing, listening to offices online and being physically present? I’m worried it won’t be to my liking.

• This retreat will also serve as discernment retreat for me. I’m not entirely sure where God is calling me. I have a girlfriend but I am also a natural contemplative and feel a slight call to religious life (but I’m totally not sure and my priority is discerning marriage with my girlfriend). I will be meeting a brother there to speak about this. Again, would be more grateful for any tips.

Finally as my name suggests I’ve been a baptized, confirmed catholic for little over two years now. That probably changes everything or not.

Thanks

2 Likes

In some monasteries it is very easy to follow along in the LOTH while in others it is a matter of “finding the page the sisters are on before they change” and then helping the visiting priest find the right page when you have finally figured it out for yourself. In some cases I have just listened to the brothers or sisters praying regardless of language.