Retrouvaille

My wife was seeing another man which I found out on Good Friday of all days. It is broken off and we are set to go to the Retrouvaille program. Has anyone been to this and had any thoughts. I feel my wife is just going so if she deceides to leave she for one won't feel guilty as she would say she tried. I on the other hand I take the marriage vows serious and want this to work. Has anyone had any experiences you could share? Our weekend is June 10-12, 2011 and ends on Pentecost Sunday. Anyone have any thoughts?

I have heard many good things about Retrouvaille. The follow-up sessions are as important if not more important than the initial weekend, which gets you started.

I so want to do this with my husband but his travel schedule makes it impossible at the moment. So I have no direct experience, but I will add you to my prayers. I hope your wife will really give it an effort.

dgeier0725,

You are making a choice to work on your marriage. Congrats!

My husband & I made our Retrouvaille weekend in SEPT 2009. It sure made a difference in our marriage. I'm a cradle Catholic and my husband is a Protestant.

My husband is a recovering addict. He also had issues w/ God. We had all the issues of trust, lying, everything ugly that goes along w/ the world of drugs. I was the codependent/enabler. (We also attending NA and NarAnon)

The messages really got to us ... my husband was lucky enough to have a meeting w/ the priest that was presiding over our weekend. He wept like a baby.

The Holy Spirit touched him that weekend. He was NOT the type of person who was open to God.

It takes alot of work at the weekend & afterwards. Did we have issues aftewards? YES! Do we still have issues? YES! But we have the tools to work us through them.

We attended the POST sessions after our wknd and are in CORE.

We will be meeting & greeting the couples that are attending Retrouvaille this wknd in our city.