Return to Church

I have been away from the Catholic Church. What is the proper way to return?
Thanks and God Bless You
Michael

I am no expert, a convert in 2000.

I’d suggest Reconciliation.

Welcome back.

Welcome home! Google "Catholics coming home". Look for a priest in your area with a kind heart and a welcoming spirit to guide you back.

God bless you!

Mike

Thank You for your guidance and welcome. Both suggestions are very helpful. I’ll continue reviewing and remembering my catechism, look for a welcoming priest and prepare for the sacrament of reconciliation .
Thanks again for your help.
Michael

Blessed are the peacemakers for they shall be called the children of God.

I returned a few years ago and having been raised Catholic and having received the sacraments already, All I needed to do was to go to confession. Then of course begin living as a Catholic (Sunday mass etc…)

Now - I will say that I had to have an impediment removed before I could return. That impediment was a previous marriage/divorce. Fortunately by the grace of God I was granted an annulment and so not only could my wife and I return to the Church (she was also a lapsed Catholic) we could also have our marriage convalidated.

So - your return could be as simple as “go to confession” - or it could be a bit more complicated. It just depends on your particular circumstances.

Peace
James