Returning convert asking for some advice?

I'm an adult convert who fell away from the church and is now coming back. I was received into the church on 27 November 2005. I'm 33 years old and I'm a 4th year theology student, majoring in church history.

I was not put through the RCIA classes as I was/am studying a theology degree and my then parish priest felt I knew enough. No sponsor either. Turns out I didn't know enough. I felt isolated, got swamped with doubt and I've been away now for 3 years.

Now I'm coming back and I'd like some advice from the people here on what you believe to be the best ways to build both my faith and my understanding of the doctrine of the faith?

Thanks,
Belinda

Congratulations Belinda, welcome back home!
I am not an expert,but I would advise you to go to confession, then go to Mass, then get yourself a good, holy priest that you are comfortable talking to, and talk. I would further recommend that you establish a daily prayertime of some sort. You are in a very hazardous profession amd I would advise you to pray always before engageing in it.
Sacraments and prayer these are keys to stability and assurance,
May God bless you richly in your pursuit of Divine Wisdom.
Peace
Tom

Not knowing where your doubts lie, it is hard to give an answer. If it simply about things Catholic, my suggestion would be to use the Catechism of the Catholic Church. You should have no problem with it, considering your major. If it is a different issue, PM me and I will see what I can help you with, or consult with a Forum Apologist.

[quote="Mad_Theologian, post:1, topic:181870"]
I'm an adult convert who fell away from the church and is now coming back. I was received into the church on 27 November 2005. I'm 33 years old and I'm a 4th year theology student, majoring in church history.