Revelation 22:8-13

Hello everyone! i am new to CAF, sort of. I visit the site almost daily but have only recently joined.

I would like your insight on the following:

I know intuitively that the angel speaking in Rev 22:9 is not the same person speaking three verses down in Rev 22:12 (or is it?!), otherwise the Alpha and Omega aka Jesus/God, would be reprimanding John for worshipping him, but following the text as is makes it difficult to really see this, especially when trying to explain it to a JW when trying to establish that Jesus=Alpha and Omega=Jehova, which is what i'm trying to do.

So what is a good way to determine or explain how this is two completely different people speaking?

Any help with this would be appreciated.

Hi there,

This is how I view that passage (which I will post - bold and underline added for emphasis)

Rev 22
8 I, John, am the one who heard and saw these things. And when I heard and saw them, I fell down to worship at the feet of the angel who showed them to me; 9 but he said to me, “You must not do that! I am a fellow servant with you and your comrades the prophets, and with those who keep the words of this book. Worship God!” 10 And he said to me, “Do not seal up the words of the prophecy of this book, for the time is near. 11 Let the evildoer still do evil, and the filthy still be filthy, and the righteous still do right, and the holy still be holy.” 12 “See, I am coming soon; my reward is with me, to repay according to everyone’s work. 13 I am the Alpha and the Omega, the first and the last, the beginning and the end.”

You will note that when the angel is speaking, all he said is within the quotations. When the angel’s words go on, it is clear the angel is continuing to speak in verses10 and 11, since the quotation marks enclose those two verses unbrokenly. Then we see in verses 12 and 13 new quotation marks enclosing the ‘words of the prophecy of this book’ which are the words of the Lord, the Alpha and Omega.

blessings,

CEM