Rituals for average Catholics?

I am just beginning to learn about Catholicism. There are many rules. Please, if you will, can someone give me a brief outline of what an average busy parent with a job does daily as a Catholic?

Right now, we say grace before meals and pray at night. That’s about it.

For example, does the average Catholic fast for Lent? If so, how?

I read here that some people have Holy Water. Do we have to do that at home?

Are there other major daily things you do or don’t do depending on the season?

I know there is information on websites, but I really want to know what real people do daily.

Thanks in advance.

It’s funny that you are coming at this whole issue as if daily devotions are a burden to be bravely borne instead of what they are, aids to faith. :wink:

Catholics are not bound to do any particular devotion. Rather, we are encouraged to pray, to read Scripture/spiritual reading, and to demonstrate Christ’s life in our lives.

Most Catholics pray with their families and do grace at meal times, just as you do. Some of us recite the Liturgy of the Hours, especially Morning and Evening Prayer. Others do the Lectio Devina–a method of Scripture reading and meditation. And still others attend daily Mass, and so on. It’s up to each person/family to decide what daily devotions they will do.

No, no, I didn’t mean to imply it’s a burden…just trying to decipher theoretical from actual in terms of practicing Catholicism. I think we actually do more than your average Lutheran, but it’s no burden. Praying is never a burden. :slight_smile:

Except the Holy Water in the home. Coming from the Protestant side, that idea is still very foreign. We haven’t covered it, yet. I get it at church but it’s going to take some pondering to get used to it elsewhere. Perhaps it will make more sense in the future.

Keeping or using holy water in your home is not a requirement. My family does, but we are not consistent at all in using it. :o