Sacrament of Confirmation Denied to My Son.

The Sacrament of Confirmation has been denied to my son and I need to know if it is legal. The reason why it was denied is because I teach my children the faith at home. The books that I use are approved by our diocese and the USCCB. I have been teaching my children for 5 years now and my priest has always supported this. When it came time for my son to receive Confirmation the DRE denied it to my son saying that because he was not in a parish faith formation program he cannot receive Confirmation. I suggested that she test my son’s knowledge so that she knows he has been well taught in the faith. She refused saying that she did not have time to test every child that comes to her for Sacraments. On a side note: the parish does not test any of the children to see if they are ready. They need only meet the required number of attendance days.

I spoke to my priest about it and originally he sided with me until he had a private conversation with his DRE and now he is supporting her.

Based on this are they allowed to deny my son Confirmation? Needless to say this has been quite painful to our family.
Thanks in advance for your input.

St. Monica

The Pastor always has a say in readiness for the reception of the Sacraments. however the Bishop is THE minister of the Sacrament of Confirmation in his diocese and is the last word in the celebration of any Sacraments outside of necessity in his diocese. So speak with the pastor again. Obtain the written guidelines from the diocese regarding “home schooling” for Sacramental preparation, make sure that you have met them. If so contact the Director of Faith Formation at the diocese for help in how to proceed. Then write the Bishop explaining all that you have done and who you have spoken with and their responses.