sacred music

I'm not sure where to post this..... so here it goes.

I'm 22 years old, and really the only parish I've known is the one I'm at. I have little knowledge of the repertoire of truly sacred music, simply because we use very contemporary music for the liturgy, i.e. guitars & drums etc.

I've been used to it, and even liked it, until recently. I'm coming to understand that a lot of what we do isn't really appropriate for the liturgy at all (especially the closing for today). Yet the parish still loves it because we do what we do quite well.

I've been blessed with a good singing voice. Many have started to tell me that I should start recording. I would like to record a CD of some good, sacred, traditional, music to sell at my parish to help change people's minds that we may start moving toward a more sacred liturgy.

Can anyone help me with some ideas of what to sing?

Here is a video of Mass with sacred polyphony and Gregorian chant, it’s less than 5 minutes long: youtube.com/watch?v=pCgrycljSnU&feature=relmfu

fyi, the first prayer they sing is “Lord, have mercy, Christ, have mercy,” etc. The second is the “Glory to God in the Highest…”

I don’t usually sing at Mass because I feel it’s a diservice to the Catholic next to me, but if you can sing this would be a great way to go.

It sounds like you are on your own, correct? If so, then sacred polyphony would naturally be impossible (for now, at least). So, Gregorian chant it is...

The best way to start would probably be to learn the Kyriale -- the simple chant settings for the Ordinary of the Mass (Kyrie, Gloria in excelsis, Credo, Sanctus, and Agnus Dei). After that you could advance to the Propers (Entrance chant, Gradual/Responsorial Psalm, Offertory, Communion chant, etc). Many Catholics forget that the Mass provides all its own music.

The Monks of the Abbey of Solesmes produce some of the best-known and highest quality books of chant.