"Safe sex" counseling as a Catholic physician

Hello all!

I tried asking this in the Ask An Apologist forum, but I’m thinking it might not be answered, so I decided to pose this question here.

I’m a med student, and in one of our classes this week they are talking about the barriers between the LGBTQ community and adequate healthcare, and one of those “barriers” is that physicians do not give “safe sex” counseling to these individuals. I got to thinking whether it would be possible for a responsible Catholic physician/PA/etc to give this sort of counseling to any patient, be they LGBTQ or an unmarried heterosexual patient.

Thanks all for your time.

I don’t see why it would be a problem. Say: now there only way way to avoid all risk of STDs – not to have sex. Second best is to have sex only with one partner, who is not promiscuous. If you do have sex, the following actions could decrease your risk: using condoms and the like.

You are not telling them, for example, to use condoms. You are telling them that condom use decreases the risk of certain diseases. That is true.

So I don’t see any problem. :shrug:

As a physician you are obligated to prevent disease.
As a Catholic you can not encourage sinful behavior.

So, simply tell your patient that you are Catholic and sexual relations outside of a marriage between one man and one woman is a sin.

Now the patient knows your moral standing.

Now explain as a physician you have an obligation to tell him how to prevent disease, even if it is within a sinful relationship.

You are not condoning their actions, just teaching how not to get sick.

I understand what you both are saying. I’m not condoning the action per se, instead I am just telling people how to best prevent disease as a health professional.