SAHM - going back to work

Looking for advice from stay at home moms who went back to work.

I have been a SAHM for a little under 10 years and am now going back to work. It is very scary to me. It has been a long time since I have been on an interview and my skill set is not current. I was a software engineer with EE degree.

Did you update your skill set by taking courses before going back to school? Did you switch careers? What was the change like for your husband and children? What type of changes did your family make? Did you have to take a major cut in pay to get back in the job market?

My kids are 13, 15, 16 and 18. One will be heading for college in Sept so there will only be three kids at home. The 16 year old has his driver license and can help with some of the driving.

My husband never helped around the house when I use to work so I doubt he will now. But I am hoping that we can share some of the responsibility of taking care of the kids.

Well as you know, I haven't gone back to work but I just wanted to say I think this will be a good change for you. I am willing to bet that you have been bored by being at home since your kids are not little any more. I know I have. I just haven't found anything I really want to do, and with my husband being gone half the time anyway right now, I really can't work full time.

Good luck to you! I hope lots of people will give you advice. :thumbsup:

Wow, what a milestone ahead! I'm not in your situation (yet), my 3 are still very young, but I always thought that once I'm ready I will ease in to the workforce by volunteering at first.

I think volunteering is a great opportunity to polish up on skills, leanr new things and very low- pressure. I'd probably do 3 months of volunteering in my field of choice and then hope to get hired by the same agency/ organization/ company.