Salvation = forgiveness of sins past, present & future?

I engaged in a debate with a Baptist co-worker who is steeped in OSAS - claiming that when we accept Christ, all of our sins, past, present and future are forgiven - therefore if someone sin but does not repent, they are still saved - or they were never saved to begin with. This makes no sense to me. In my feeble attempts to explain that while we believe that salvation is a gift freely given, we reject it by sin, so therefore we separate ourselves from the gift. At which time she accused Catholic of believing that our works (i.e. not sinning) are what gets us to heaven. To which I responded - we are not capable of it (not sinning) without Christ - the gift freely given. I told her OSAS was man-made and came from Calvin, and that the early Christians most certainly did believe they could lose their salvation. She also attacked the Pope (for "no salvation outside the church’) and Mary worship. I’m not very good at apologetics and I have to work with this woman. In the end, we agreed that we have differences, but both believe that is Jesus Christ who saves us. I am praying for her.

It sounds like you are handling this very well! Since you have to work together, you don’t want to foster animosity - and of course, you will have an almost daily opportunity to be a witness, simply by living your faith.

OSAS is a very comforting belief. It allows mothers to cling to the time their 5 year old asked Jesus to be his savior, and believe that no matter that the boy is now an atheist and a flagrant sinner, his eternal soul is safe. It also, ironically, can leave people worried that they are not really saved because they still struggle with the inclination to sin.