Salvation

well, since I was informed that I hadn’t posted in a while, I figured I should get busy! :smiley: This is my fourth post today.

While I am still studying, and may be getting this wrong, salvation in the RCA church seems so much more sure than in the RC church. I realize that RC’s say we can’t “work our way” to salvation, and yet on the other hand, I hear that it is possible to lost your salvation if you turn from God, and that OSAS is evil.

I’m currently reading a John Salza book, and he even says that good works don’t just flow from a Christian to prove that they are living a Christian life, but good works have salvific importance. Even though these are works done in and b/c of the grace of God, they are still works.

One post I read said something to the effect of “I hope I get to heaven” and that made me sad. Doesnt’ John 5:13 say that he taught what he taught to let us know what we need to be saved? Should there be such a question, or a disconnect between us here on earth and the Lord?

oneseeker

If you have fallen into a ditch and cannot get out without the help of someone else, and someone comes along and pulls you out. What prevents you from falling into the same or different ditch? Our Church instructs us that if we want to remain out of the ditch (in sin) we must obey Jesus’ command to love one another.

The Catholic Church makes the point that you must have both faith and works to recieve salvation. The essence of this idea is not that you must do certain things to recieve salvation, but that you must have love. The only work which matters is love. Christ left us one commandment and that is to love as He has loved us. That love is the result of faith. The more your faith in Christ increases; the more your faith in the resurrection increases the more you will love. Perfect love is the result of a faith that Christ is merciful. Read John’s gospel and epistles and you will get a good grasp of the importance of love.