satanic pentagrams

Gazing at this shape…I’m wondering, why the 5-pointed pentagram is considered satanic? What do the points represent, and are there any other polygons or solids associated with the occult/satan.

I’ve seen it shown with one point downward and two upwards. That way it kind of looks like a goat with pointed chin, two horns, and two ears. The goat is also a symbol of Satan.

I think of the five pointed star as you show it as a symbol of the star of Bethlehem. Maybe that’s why the reverse of it is Satanic? I’m no expert on this.

like this…I think I see the goat

Grace & Peace!

The pentagram is not inherently satanic–nor is the inverted pentagram inherently satanic, though it has been used in a satanic context, particularly in the Baphomet symbol which superimposes the head of a goat onto the inverted pentagram and, in Hebrew letters at each of the five points, spells Leviathan. But that’s parlor-theatrics satanism. It wasn’t until the 19th century with Eliphas Levi, I believe, that the inverted pentagram assumed any sort of dark mystique. In other contexts, the inverted pentagram has represented a focus on the material, on the power of the passions, on the will or the soul dominated by the elements of matter.

In modern occultism, the pentagram itself represents the four elements ruled over by spirit or the fifth element of ether. It assumed a mystical significance as far back as the days of Pythagoras when it was used to demonstrate the principle of the Golden Mean in mathematics (because of this, it often represents the principle of harmony). In Christianity, the pentagram was associated with a number of things–chiefly the five wounds of Christ. In the old poem of Gawain and the Green Knight, Gawain bears the pentagram on his shield and it symbolizes for him 5 sets of 5 things:
1–Purity of the 5 senses
2–Right action (“his five fingers never failed”)
3–The 5 wounds
4–The 5 joys of Mary (Annunciation, Nativity, Resurrection, Ascension, Coronation)