Scapulars and Skydiving

I heard you can take scapulars off when you go swimming, how about indoor skydiving? My scapular is new and I didn’t want to lose it.

Scapulars are a private devotion, yes, you can take it off.

And you should, by the way, if it is going to get in your way, or get caught in a machine or something. You don’t want to injure yourself because of it.

Wouldn’t it be concealed under your clothing?

That’s what I was thinking too, but I’m not an expert in skydiving and I guess its possible for the sacramental to get in the way- else the OP wouldn’t be asking about it.

If for this, or for anything else, you don’t want to hurt your self.

withdrawn - see now that this is indoor skydiving.

Is there sky indoors?

They have giant tubes.

I’ll echo others that you’d be fine to take off the scapula during the skydiving. You’re still following the spirit of wearing the scapula IMO as you’ll be putting it on again after and are only taking it off to protect it,

Thread titles like this make me happy to be here.

A scapular is a private devotion with a sacramental. A monk’s habit has very special significance, and the donning of the habit is of very special significance. It is a particular and visible mark of monastic life.

But, even monks will take off their habits, to do manual work in the fields or around the monastery for instance, when they wear work clothes (pants, shirt). Or when traveling (yes monks travel, they visit other monasteries, go away for studies, or to visit a sick family member or a family member’s funeral, etc.), as a monk’s habit is not a particularly practical travel garment (the ones I know though wear another sign of their vocation when they do however, either a clerical shirt and collar if a priest/deacon, or a sort of monastic “hoodie”, a black short tunic with a hood, with a simple wooden cross).