Scheduling a confession?

So, I need to go to confession. My parish offers it for an hour on Saturdays, but I missed it yesterday, and so I am going to schedule an appointment.

I have never done such a thing before, and I’m kind of nervous. I have also never been to confession at this particular parish, which is awkward.
What if I’m late? What if something comes up and it turns out I can’t make it? Do I meet with the priest beforehand, or what?
I mean, confession is scary. And somehow, this is scarier. I’ll admit, I keep putting it off - I meant to call and schedule yesterday afternoon when I found I couldn’t make it, but I didn’t. Now, I don’t know. I’m trying to work up the courage to call now to go this afternoon, but I don’t know if that’s plausible or advisable…I’m nervous.

Simply make the call. If you are going to be late or find you can’t make it call to reschedule. But I suggest you make the appointment for a time when you know you can make it. When I worked in the parish office many times the people who called to make appointments weren’t known by the priest.

There are a couple of options to consider.

First, you can be absolved from any priest who has faculties from his Ordinary, so you don’t have to go to confession at your own parish. While normally people go elsewhere for the purpose of anonymity, it could be done for a matter of scheduling, as well.

If you consult mass times dot org, you can find out not only the times of Holy Mass at nearby parishes, but also, in a lot of cases, the times for confession!