Science and Religion

Hello everyone,

I am a self proclaimed scientist. I have no religious views, but please do not shun me for that reason. I’m here to be a diplomat between science and religion because I do feel that they have a lot in common. I am educated. I’m not necessarily a believer in evolution (although I do find the argument very persuasive). I do not submit to “intelligent design” or “creationism” either, although I can find truth in my own speculations of the two. I saw an episode of “Through the Wormhole” a while ago where a priest openly voiced his opinion on some of my own work. I have the utmost respect for him. He did not deny religion, and gracefully tip toed across the tight-rope of scientific inquiry. I just want to make sure that you guys understand and accept that I am not here to bash your religion, and likewise, I am not here to proliferate scientific wisdom. I do believe that the two can benefit from each other and I hope to unify the two respectfully. I’m not doing this for political reasons or to demonstrate a difference between knowledge and belief. I’m doing this out of the goodness of my heart and my love for “trolling” the internet.

Hi then! Glad to be a part of this community :slight_smile:

Welcome, know that we here do not pray at the worldly alters of power, pleasure, honor or wealth. If you wish to approach the alter of our Lord Jesus please do so with respect and humility.

Glad you could join us!

From the Catechism of the Catholic Church:

"Faith and understanding
vatican.va/archive/ccc_css/archive/catechism/p1s1c3a1.htm