Scientology a new slant on Life by L. Ron Hubbard

Any here read this book?

No, but I have browsed Dianetics, and Scientology:The Fundamentals of Thought. I have a degree in psychology, and found it all to be BS. I even went to a scientology organization (“org”, the equivalent of a parish), and took a course, then wrote about it for one of my psych classes. Scientology mixes in a lot of valid points, then adds their own twist to it. This is how Scientology gets you to stay. It all “works” at the beginning, but then when it stops working, you’re hooked. Their method of recruitment is also interesting, as it plays heavily on your emotions and “fixing” things in your life. I’ve been inside both the DC org and the NYC org.

youtube.com/watch?v=UFBZ_uAbxS0

'nuf said.

Agree. Scientology is more like a combination of cult and pyramid scam. Best advice is to stay away - they have a lot of practice at deception.

oh and here are two contrasting videos:

What Scientology wants you to think an “Org” is like:

youtube.com/watch?v=ALVUus22NVc

What it’s really like (hidden camera documentary):

youtube.com/watch?v=rD9bCdHqU3s

Very scary stuff.

I found it interesting that Scientology calls disaffected members “apostates” and warns its members that if they leave Scientology, they will commit suicide within a year. When I was leaving Mormonism I was warned countless times that “apostates” always wind up dead in the gutter. My LDS brother still maintains that this will be my fate. I enjoy reporting to him that I have been out of Mormonism for 23 years and am still gutter-free. :slight_smile:

:thumbsup:

Paul, you were not.

You were not told that you would commit suicide, or wind up dead in a gutter when you left Mormonism, and I’m getting really tired of this stuff.

You may, however, have been warned that you were making very much the wrong decision. By the way, just how obnoxious WERE you about leaving?