Scriptural rosary - please post your experiences

Hi all -

Even though I’ve been a Catholic only a year, I’ve been praying the rosary off and on for nrealy 40 years. Yet, even with all these rosaries I’ve never prayed a “scriptural rosary” until Thursday night.

I wanted to try praying a rosary with scripture passages, and I even thought of buying that ubiquitous little hardcover book ‘Scriptural Rosary’ that’s in every Catholic bookstore. But I’ve always been happy with the rosary as I’ve prayed it and evolved with it over the years. Plus, I have to admit, I wasn’t thrilled about the additional time it looked like it would take - maybe even an hour. Who has the time it would take?

A few months ago I bought the book “The Rosary for the Holy Souls in Purgatory” by Susan Tassone off of eBay, but when I saw that it was a scriptural rosary, I put it aside. Maybe some evening my husband and I would pick it up and use it. (Translation: When we had nothing else to do.)

Well, I did on Thursday after my husband left for New York City to be with his mother who’s in the hospital. Left here at home to worry and cry, I doubted I would be able to concentrate on praying the rosary which I so badly wanted to pray for my husband and his family.

Enter Susan Tassone and her scriptural rosary! The Luminous Myseries are included and I was enthralled as I prayed through them. It absolutely kep my mind on track and I didn’t want it to be over. I felt as if I were praying at a shrine, or with a Bible scholar, or in the Holy Land - OK, all three. My only remorse was in not trying a scriptural rosay years before. It didn’t even take as long as I expected - about 35 minutes. And worth every second.