Scrupulosity?

So I am relatively new to the faith, I converted about six months ago. I’ve had quite a few difficulties. Lately, I’ve been wondering if what I’m doing might be scrupulosity. I’ve been against labeling it as such because I was afraid that “scrupulosity” might just be my excuse for being lax about sins, but I’ve been struggling again and I guess I thought it was worth delving into.

I’ve never thought of myself as a perfectionist, but looking back at my life, I’m seeing more and more of it. Anything that I was ever slightly good at - writing, debating, sewing, anything at all academic - I had to be the BEST at it, because I felt people wouldn’t respect me otherwise. I thought if I couldn’t be perfect at what I did, nobody could notice or like me at all. I never considered this a problem in my secular life, although now I feel it may have accounted for a lot of stress and anxiety throughout my childhood (and still today). The only thing that I’ve really managed to stick to so far is sewing, and I’m wondering if that is maybe simply because nobody yet has spoken a word against my talent. I’m still struggling with this problem, mainly because I have found that indeed the better I am, the more respect and attention people pay to me - something I value far too much for my own good.

I’ve been thinking of how this might have transferred over into my spiritual life. I’ve always known in my head that I don’t need to be perfect in order to be good, but since the day I converted something deep inside me is constantly, always saying “If you can do better, you need to do better”. The problem is, I had trouble finding my limits. I was brand new to the faith and I was pushing myself into immediately acting like I’d been at it for years, because I thought that technically, I was physically able. I wasn’t.